Rough Data Sample Collection

NoiseTrade site 1 NoiseTrade site 2

Just a recap on my project – I’m looking at the website NoiseTrade as a case study. The broad topic I’m going to look at is how the Internet has changed the way music is marketed and how artists / bands are being promoted. I’ll be using NoiseTrade as a case study for the purpose of this research. I want to look at how artists / bands (signed to a label or independent) are using NoiseTrade to market their music and spread their exposure. The site itself is a tool for artists to share their music with their fans and those who have not heard of them or their music. Artists (signed or unsigned) will share their music for free, leaving it up to their fans / consumer / listener the decision to leave them a gratuitous tip, &/or share their music among their (the consumer’s) social networks.

My initial step to getting an idea of how and why artists / bands are using NoiseTrade, I will be collecting data by looking at specific artists. Also looking at the top downloads, also at NoiseTrade’s “Downloading Now” section on their music home page (sections seen in the images above). The “Downloading Now” is a live feed that is constantly refreshing and shows which albums / artists are being downloaded in real-time.

The following list are the artists / bands that I saw were repeatedly being downloaded when I was on the site on Sunday (Feb 22).

  • Redeemer Music
  • James Vincent Mc Morrow
  • Blue Water Highway Band
  • The Speedbumps
  • White Morning
  • High Highs
  • Kaleo
  • Eduardo Mano
  • Midnight Society
  • Dog
  • Dwayne Shivers

I noticed that a number of the artists repeatedly shown on the “Downloading Now” live feed were also featured on NoiseTrade‘s live banner on their music homepage (as seen in the first image above).

Below, I compiled a table of specific artists / bands, which showed up on the “Downloading Now” live feed, and some were even featured in “Top Downloads”. I went to each of the artists’ personal NoiseTrade site, and found their Twitter and Facebook links. From those two sites I looked at their number of followers. The data I found from searching this was interesting. As you can see some artists had well over 10’s of thousands  of followers on Twitter / Facebook, while some had as little as 20-30 followers.

Artist / Band Twitter Facebook Status
The Oh Hellos 7,961 40,347 Independent
Dwayne Shivers 37 315 n/a
The Speedbumps 574 3,843 Leta Records
Kaleo 21 10,961 Atlantic Records
Sleeping at Last 29.7K 96,472 Asteroid B-612 (Independent)
Tahoma 506 614 n/a
A Silent Film 7,825 27,916 Mile Recordings, Bieler Brows
James Vincent McMorrow 39.4K 201,293 Universal Music Ireland

I then searched the web, whether on their personal artist sites, apart from NoiseTrade, to see whether they were signed or unsigned artists (if that information was not mentioned on their NoiseTrade site).

This is just a rough sample of what kind of data I’ll be looking at. When looking at specific artists I want to see how successful they are in terms of promoting themselves via NoiseTrade. I’m thinking that in order to measure their success I need to look at their follower count on Twitter and Facebook.

I was also thinking that as my research goes on, I can keep creating tables to see if their was a change in their follower count. Although the amount of time for this research is very limited since it’s only a few more weeks of research. But that could be a route I can take.

Limitations: NoiseTrade doesn’t show how many times an artists’ album has been downloaded, so I’m limited to the data of their follower count.

Variables that may affect their measure of “success” is whether they are signed to a label or not – and I want to look at if whether that factor makes a significant difference to their success. Also at when the band was discovered / when they released their first album. Looking at that may help with whether time affects success, for instance if an artist / band has been putting out their music longer, are they more successful than those who just recently released their first album?

By measuring the artists’ success I’m going to relate it back to the initial scholarly articles I searched for, on top of new articles I will find, to see how the affordances of NoiseTrade are affecting artists’ marketing strategy. And I know that for this research I may have to define an artists’ “success” more clearly; a definition I will clearly have as I go along with my research.

Just wondering if I’m on the right track in terms of data collection and using NoiseTrade as a case study. If I’m missing something then let me know. Like I said, this is just a rough data sample collection, but let me know if I should look into or focus on something else that can help with my research.

One thought on “Rough Data Sample Collection

Leave a Reply

