Capstone Proposal – Brandon Rodriguez

Research question/argument

There are a few things that I want to accomplish with my capstone project.  My main goal is to actually see what impact digital strategy has on various people & businesses.  By impact I mean measuring overall success and trying to track down what was successful and led to positive results (positive being profitability, brand awareness, user engagement, etc) and what what didn’t work.  I am also interested in doing this to further establish my professional portfolio with a case study really geared towards what may become my career path in the future.  I want to really dig in and account for just about every kind of digital business effort that the subjects put forth.  Sure things like social media engagement are important, but what about things like applications, design,  and conversion funnels?  I want to see how my subjects harness the power that technology now has and use that to craft a successful business.  I am still trying to determine what the best way to word the question I want to answer is, but for now, I will use “ How do the digital business efforts of (my three to four subjects) have impacted them from an overall business sense”

What are your data and how are you collecting it?

This is where I have ran into the most trouble so far when planning out this assignment.  Collecting data for this assignment is not going to be an easy task.  First, I need to determine what exactly it is that I would like to measure.  There are so many different aspects to overarching digital strategy campaigns that I think it will be hard to narrow it down to just a few sets of data that I can use.  Earlier I mentioned things like social engagement, brand awareness, and user engagement, but measuring these things fairly is going to be a challenging task.  In addition to this, making sure that all data is standardized is going to be difficult as well.  I think the biggest problem when it comes to this will be collecting the data.  Depending on the subjects, some information may be hard to find.  If I cannot find data even for just one of the subjects, I can not use it because the playing field is not level.  Another major question I need to answers is going to be how can I prove what is effective and what is not. My idea right now is to possibly (pending on the data I find as well as use) create my own mathematical model to help solve this.  Now, this would be a pretty large undertaking on my part, so I am looking around now to see if I can find any pre-existing formulas that may be able to lead me in the right direction.  The goal of this is to come up with quantitative data to actually prove who is the most successful from a digital business standpoint and who is not.  If I can some how take the numbers I find in my research and model a simple yet effective (from an analyzation perspective) equation to measure success, I think I will be able to get the information I need to determine whose efforts were the most successful.

Project presentation details

I am also somewhat stuck in regards to what direction I want to take when it comes to presenting my findings.  I think a paper is the best way to go, but with all of the discussion of branding in addition to all of the “number crunching” I want to incorporate, I want to make it visual as well.  Adding graphics and examples of things like design in addition to graphs and equations of the data that I collect I think would add a “deeper” dimension to the assignment and give the future readers a better sense of what the paper is discussing.  For now I want to say it will be a “visual paper” hopefully tying in my research with key visuals to assist with the flow of the paper.

2 Questions:

How do you think I can best go about analyzing the data?

In your opinion, what would be the best way to present the findings of this project?

2 thoughts on “Capstone Proposal – Brandon Rodriguez

  1. I think you have the right idea when it comes to presenting your data. It is always better when you can include any kind of visual representation of your research to make it more interesting, but also validate your research. Since your focus is on digital strategy, I think it would do your project justice to have a visual presentation /aspect as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

