So this is me…

Hey y’all! Mariyah Wojcik here. So if my video editing and country music haven’t scared you off yet, here is a bit more about me. I just turned 21, it is my third year in college at Rutgers, but I am graduating a year early, so this is my final semester. As I mentioned in the video, I am a Political Science and Journalism & Media Studies major with a DCIM minor. I focus mainly on American politics in my studies, but follow world news and politics avidly when I am not glued to CSPAN.

As far as digital technology is concerned, I am not a huge fan of a lot of new innovations, and particularly dislike social media in general. Maybe I’m just old-fashioned, but I still like meeting in person and getting snail mail. There is one exception to this rule, however. I am fascinated by the new ways that political parties are attempting to mobilize both general voters as well as their base to support candidates through new digital formats. I have not decided on a capstone project just yet, but I believe that I will incorporate this interest into my project when I get a firmer idea of what exactly is required of me and what I can successfully accomplish in the set time period. I suppose that rolls into a question about the class: What are the exact parameters in the project and what type of things should I cover when all is said and done?

I have had many jobs in my life and they run the gambit from auto dealer file clerk, to spice blend maker to newspaper reporter. I have gained a lot of valuable experience along the way, and when I graduate this May I would like to work for a government agency such as the FBI. Much of my family has served in the military or worked for government contractors on defense projects, and I suppose that it is a mission of mine to continue this trend in the future. I love to travel, and with the unpredictable world political and social climate right now, the time is ripe for adventure and spontaneity. I am excited for the future, and especially for what this semester holds.

One thought on “So this is me…

Leave a Reply

