Justin Brown About Me

Hi all, I’m Justin Brown. I am 22 years old and I am currently a 5th year journalism and media studies major here at Rutgers with a double minor in Theater Arts and DCIM. Besides classes I have been an active member and performer of the Livingston Theatre Company since my freshman year, where I have also been the box office manager for the past 3 years.I am also active in Cabaret Theatre and RUtv’s WeatherWatchers, for which I work both in front of and behind the camera. Performing and weather have always been my true passions and my ultimate goal is to be able to combine them and become a TV weatherman. I have recently taken steps toward that goal by acquiring an internship for this semester at News 12 NJ in the meteorology department. Working 3 days a week, I help create graphics, record forecasts, and help generate forecasts among other tasks. I hope to use the skills I am learning in this internship to help in my search of a job after I graduate in May.

Ever since I was a child I was fascinated with the weather.  While most children watched cartoons on weekend mornings, I was watching the Weather Channel. I ultimately hope to find a job in the New York market at one of the major news networks, but that would definitely take time.  Weather is all over the internet, from weather pages on news sites to Weathechannel.com or the National Weather Service website.  Weather has a huge impact because it affects us all.  With this recent busted blizzard you couldn’t go on Facebook or Twitter without finding posts upon posts from people talking about either the blizzard or the weather people.

I’ve also always been in love with performing on stage.  Singing is a huge passion of mine and I love how I can use that talent in musical theater.  Theater has a big online digital presence especially in the form or Twitter and Facebook and  various other social media outlets.  The best way to get reviews of a Broadway show is to go online because who reads newspaper reviews anymore.

As for the Capstone project I really am not sure what I want to do yet.  Obviously I want it to reflect one of my interests either weather or theater but I don’t know which one yet.  Although I am leaning in a weather direction at this moment that could change over time. I guess we’ll see.

This is my last DCIM class and it seems to be a culmination of all the classes that I have taken for the minor so I am definitely excited to combine those skills.  I’m honestly not a hundred percent what the project really is about so that would have to be my main question.  I just wish to have a better understanding about what exactly we are supposed to be doing.  I know we have a lot of free reign but I could use a little clarification would help me a lot.  That right now is my only question.

One thought on “Justin Brown About Me

Leave a Reply

